Latest News

18 Nov

Enterprise and Innovation Centre at Nottingham Trent University

The new home for local businesses, start-ups, students, graduates and local entrepreneurs. Nottingham Trent University are opening a dynamic and innovative centre for both entrepreneurs and growing enterprises that want to work and co-locate with them.

18 Nov

Flood Support from Nottinghamshire County Council and Derbyshire County Council

Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire County Council have announced their support for residents and businesses affected by recent flooding. Both councils are offering emergency payments of up to £300 for small businesses who have been affected by the floods.

18 Nov

Funding Available for 150 SMEs to Develop New Skills

Do you know anyone who works in, or owns an SME? If so, we would really appreciate you sharing this exciting news with them. SMEs need to apply now to secure one of these limited places on this critical government-sponsored trial.

Two local MPs will be holding Government to account

Posted on July 13th, 2017

Nicky Morgan MP
Nicky Morgan, MP for Loughborough and former Cabinet Minister, has won the contest to chair Parliament’s influential Treasury select committee, beating arch-Brexiteer Jacob Rees-Mogg to position herself as a thorn in the side of the Government’s plans for leaving the EU.

The former Treasury Minister and Education Secretary was elected against Jacob, her nearest rival, by MPs across all parties. But she had particular backing from those on the Labour benches who want to stop Theresa May’s hardline Brexit plan to leave the single market, customs union and jurisdiction of the European court of justice.

Her victory means a prominent advocate of a soft Brexit will lead scrutiny of the direction of the Government’s economic policy as it grapples with the impact of leaving the EU, a worsening economic outlook and pressure on Philip Hammond, the Chancellor, to ease austerity.

Since she was sacked by Theresa last year, Nicky has been one of the most prominent voices in Parliament warning of the economic dangers of a hard Brexit. She beat five male colleagues in the competition, winning 290 votes against 226 for Jacob, the Guardian has reported..

Lillian Greenwood
Fellow East Midlands MP Lilian Greenwood (Nottingham South) has been elected Chair of the Transport Committee for the 2017 Parliament.

The secret ballot of MPs took place on yesterday, Wednesday 12 July, with votes counted under the 'alternative vote' system.

The full list of elected committee chairs for the new Parliament was announced in the House of Commons by the Speaker, the Rt Hon John Bercow.

Lilian will formally take up position as Chair of the committee when the remaining members have been named by the House.